|Title||Race in job editing can overwrite defect tracker records|
|Assigned user||Richard Brooksby|
|Description||In Perforce 2000.2, if two people edit a job at the same time, the edits of the first person to save the job are lost. This means that edits made to a record in the defect tracker can be lost if someone was editing the corresponding job at the same time that the replicator was updating it from the defect tracker. When the job is saved, fields are reverted to old values, replicated back, and can overwrite the updated information in the defect tracker's database.|
|Analysis||This is a race condition in job editing in Perforce.|
GDR 2001-06-19: This defect is present in P4D/NTX86/2001.1beta/22346.
|Evidence||Customer e-mail exchange:|
Another exchange with the same customer:
Perforce support CALL#177833 corresponds to the thread above.
Perforce support CALL#179380 is my request to raise the priority.
Perforce job 5001 is their request to fix this problem.
|Created by||Richard Brooksby|
|Created on||2001-04-11 11:10:34|
|Last modified by||Richard Brooksby|
|Last modified on||2013-03-15 12:20:10|
|History||2001-04-11 RB Created.|
2001-06-19 GDR Added analysis for Perforce 2001.1 beta.
2013-03-15 RB Suspended ancient job in defunct project.